Autonomous Communities of Spain Regions


Regions of Spain – Spanish States

Spain is a country in Europe that is a collection of distinct glued regions, occupying most of the Iberian Peninsula, extending from the Pyrenees mountains in the south to the strait of Gibraltar which separates the country from Africa. It is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the east. Spain is governed by a parliamentary system, monarchy, and the constitutional monarchial system. It has its capital in Madrid, which is the largest city, followed by Barcelona. The country is headed by a prime minister who is the highest authority. The country has the highest expectancy rate with a current population of 46 million, which contributes to a whopping 0.6% of the world’s population ranking the thirtieth most populated country worldwide! From inventing a stapler to introducing legal nudity, Spain is more than just a country known for its football stars Sergio Ramos and Andreas Iniesta who play for their national teams, and sunny sandy beaches. 

An interesting fact about Spain is that it is has a collection of 17 autonomous communities that are distinct and unique, making Spain a decentralized country rather than a federal state like most countries. What is meant by autonomous? The term is simply used to refer to the communities as independent as they have their own Executive, Legislative, and Judicial power. The communities include:


You might find this community interesting from its popular name “land of witches” it has its capital in Santiago de Compostela which is a very famous city in Galicia and a go-to destination for pilgrims on a pilgrimage. The inhabitants are predominantly Roman Catholics. 


The Valencian community is the most popular, having its headquarters in Valencia, which is the third-largest city in Spain. It is known for its local ceremony Falles. 


Its capital and largest city is Pamplona, and it is marked as the medieval Basque kingdom of the 16th century. It is famous for the annual running of the bulls. 


It has its capital city in Merida. The mention of Extremadura will bring to mind the great conqueror Pizarro. 


It is home to the largest population of autonomous communities with its central city as Seville. 


Its capital city is Zaragoza and its famous for some medieval monuments of Teruel and Zaragoza which are protected by UNESCO. 

Community of Madrid

This community is situated in the heart of the Iberian Peninsula. 

  • Castilla-la Mancha
  • Basque country
  • Balearic Islands 
  • Castile
  • La Rioja
  • Canary Islands
  • Asturias
  • Cantabria
  • Region of Murcia
  • Catalonia

Catalonia is also another of the largest communities that have over the past few years been making news by wanting to stand on its own. It has its capital in Barcelona.

Each of these autonomous communities is governed using its autonomous constitution. The fundamental elements in the organization of these communities are the parliament and their regional government. The communities’ laws which are referred to as state autonomies contain all the rules and regulations each community subscribes to as long as they are in line with the national constitution. 

Spain is home to unique cultures and festivals as well as a highly decentralized community life. You can never learn enough about Spain.

The United States Air Force

Previous article

What is Invasion

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.